It’s been about nine months since my UK adventure ended, and I’m getting itchy feet again. I spend a great deal of time dreaming about the next adventure and all the places I want to see.

My goal for now is to head back to Europe for about a month next year, to revisit London and to see some of the places I didn’t manage to visit during my two years abroad. Ideally I’d love six months or a year travelling around Europe (and elsewhere) but even a month seems recklessly optimistic given the dire  state of my savings account. Nevertheless, I’m sticking with the hope that by August or September I’ll have enough saved to jet off for my European sojourn.

These are some of the places I would love to visit.

Berlin

I’ve wanted to visit Berlin for a long time and everyone I know who has been rates it highly.  It has a fascinating history and seems like a cool place full of interesting cultural attractions. As a museum junkie, how could I not go to Museum Island? 

Barcelona

The Gaudi architecture and the Museu Picasso are definite  must-sees.

Budapest

I have some Hungarian heritage so I would love to get a glimpse of my roots. Budapest looks like a beautiful, fascinating place. I suspect the language barrier could be a slight issue (Magyar seems like a very hard language to learn) but that’s all part of the fun!

The Hague

I just really, really, really want to go Mauritshuis. It houses the Royal Cabinet of Paintings, a fine collection of art from the Dutch Golden Age. I love Dutch art so this would be a real joy for me.

Venice

I’m madly in love with Italy, after visits to Rome and Florence last year. I had a vague plan for a trip to Venice in January, because I’ve heard it’s a magical time to visit, but it didn’t come to fruition. I’m not hugely keen on going in high season but do long to see Venice.

Dubrovnik

My desire to visit Croatia may have something to do with my TV addiction, as it has become a popular filming location in recent years for shows like Doctor Who and Game of Thrones. It looks stunning and, after hearing rave reviews of Dubrovnik from others, I can’t wait to see it for myself.

Stockholm

I want to check out Medieval history in Gamla Stan and the collection of 20th Century art at Moderna Museet.

Helsinki

It looks very beautiful and that’s enough of a reason.

Edinburgh

To my great shame, I didn’t make it to Scotland during my time in the UK (how did I let this happen?) so this time it’s a necessity. One of these days I’ll make it there in time for the Edinburgh Festival.

Dublin

I am very mad at myself for also not heading over to Ireland when I lived in the UK. I pretty much want to go anywhere in Ireland, but figure Dublin would be a good place to start, for its literary history in particular.

Hay-on-Wye

Books, books, books. Enough said.

 

Obviously I’m not going to do all of this in a month and I’ll be lucky if I get to a few of these places, but there’s nothing wrong with an ambitious list for future adventures, is there?

